Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 50 avis vérifiés

3,9 sur 5
Recommandé par 40 % des clients
4,1 Propreté de la chambre
3,9 Services et personnel
3,7 Confort de la chambre
3,8 Conditions de l'hôtel
Avis Expedia vérifiés
4 sur 5
par Karin de lasne

Publié le 22 mars 2016 sur Hotels
we were a bit disappointed in this hotel. The room was much smaller than expected. The bar was rather dark with an uninterested barkeeper and restaurants were not really closeby.
4 sur 5
par max

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 4 août 2014 sur Hotels
3 sur 5
par Shane

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 16 juin 2017 sur Hotels
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Close to the Cango Caves but would not stay again.

Publié le 24 avr. 2017
Stayed one night as we were visiting the Cango Caves the next day. A very disappointing stay for a Protea Hotel. l Room was very old and tired. Booked a room with king bed but got a room with two double beds. When I inquired, I was told to speak to manager who would be there the next morning. Didn't help our situation that night so didn't bother. Light outside was not working so was very dark and hard to get into room. Water in bathroom was brown, so used our own bottled water as none was provided. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was just okay. Unfortunately would not stay here again.
4 sur 5
par Matthijs

Prachtige omgeving......

Publié le 28 févr. 2017 sur Hotels
Goed hotel. Enige minpuntje de Wifi ontvangst op de kamer. Bij het hotel veel mogelijkheden om erop uit te trekken. De Gorges of de Swartberg spectaculair.
4 sur 5
par John

Hotel responded effectively to my concerns.

Publié le 27 févr. 2017 sur Hotels
I was disappointed when we checked in at the small size of the room and, particularly, that there was no fridge, as we had fresh items with us from our previous hotels, which all had fridges. I received a feedback form from Hotels.com and wrote on it that I would have liked a fridge. I didn't think anyone read these reviews but, when we returned from a day out, there was a fridge in our room and a very courteous letter from the management. I had also mentioned poor wifi from the night before and the letter said that they had tried to address this. It certainly was improved. Although it would have been good to have a fridge and working wifi from the outset, I was very impressed with the hotel's responsiveness to my concerns and would like to place my thanks on record.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

You get what you pay for.

Publié le 19 déc. 2016 sur Hotels
Good central area. The menu prices too expensive. Supper is about R250 a meal per person while breakfast R165 a head. Bathroom not very clean. Very limited internet connection if at all. It is not a 3 star hotel, would consider it more of a 2 star accommodation.
5 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Quiet and Serene

Publié le 15 déc. 2016 sur Hotels
Excellent Service, food was superb, chef prepared lamb chops and ostrich fillet, wow! Friendly pleasant staff. Room had a unique rondavel shape. Clean and very comfortable. Quiet tranquil site feels like country but is in town. Very sercure
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 4 oct. 2016 sur Hotels
4 sur 5
par Angelo

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 10 mai 2016 sur Hotels