Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 389 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
3,5 sur 5
Recommandé par 74 % des clients
3,5 Propreté de la chambre
3,7 Services et personnel
3,6 Confort de la chambre
3,4 Conditions de l'hôtel
Avis Expedia vérifiés
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Sevierville, TN

Nice hotel close to everything

Publié le 18 avr. 2016
Les + : It was very comfortable and quiet.
Les - : Alarm clocks should be provided in every room. Also, if you request no maid service, the maid should not clean the room. Needs elevator.
Situation : Location was awesome. You are close to absolutely everything in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.
The room was comfortable, but had no alarm clock. It was great being close to everything! The only problem I had was I requested no maid service for the second day I was there, and they cleaned the room anyway.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Daphne AL

Nice hotel near everything.

Publié le 2 avr. 2016
Les + : I like the location and the view you have on the back deck. This hotel is worth the price you pay.
Les - : More lighting in the bathroom. Maybe some rugs in the hotel would be nice. Replace the soap in the rooms each day would be great.
Situation : It is in Sevierville so it will take about 15 minutes to get Dolly Wood, which isn't bad. Pigeon Forge is just around the corner.
I like how the hotel is near the river with a nice view. The room was was clean, but the sheets in both beds had hair in them. It seemed to be pet hair, I hope. We didn't notice it until the next morning. The rest of the nights the sheets seem to be clean. They don't replace your room with shampoo and soap so you have to ask for it if you don't bring your own.
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Charlotte, NC

Don't Stay Here!

Publié le 18 mars 2016
Les + : Location
Les - : Attitude of the staff
Situation : A lot of traffic. It does not appear to be a very popular place to stay
They did not have our reservation. Took them 45 minutes to get things worked out and give us a room. Wanted to charge us $30 more per room than the Expedia rate. They reduced it when I showed them the Expedia email. Terrible attitude on the part of the staff. I requested late check out for Sunday. Even though they had plenty of vacancies, they reluctantly gave me an extra hour, until 12 noon. I checked out at 11:45 a.m. The next day I checked my VISA account (which I used) and discovered that they charged me an additional day. I called them and emailed them--NO RESPONSE! I am working through my bank to protest the unauthorized charge.
4 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de TN

Nice hotel

Publié le 8 févr. 2016
I like staying here but the room hadn't been cleaned. Found trash behind the nightstand. Remote wasn't working for the TV.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
27 févr. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for letting us know your issues with the room. We have addressed those issues both in the room and with housekeeping, as well as changed the batteries in the remote to the TV. We look forward to your next visit to the Smokies!
4 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de East Tn

NiceStay

Publié le 2 févr. 2016
Les + : The location
The hotel is old so you get what you pay for. My stay was fine,the wild life out back on private deck very nice. Bathroom very small but I wasn't there to hang out in the restroom. Its on the main road very easy to get out of parking lot.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
27 févr. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit with us. We are under renovations to improve and update our property. We do hope to see you again soon.
5 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 2 févr. 2016 sur Hotels
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
27 févr. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
Thanks for the feedback.
3 sur 5
par Greg

Publié le 29 janv. 2016 sur Hotels
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
27 févr. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
Thanks for the feedback.
5 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

great hotel

Publié le 24 janv. 2016 sur Hotels
the price and location was great. I loved the balcony overlooking the river.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
27 févr. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your next stay.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Terrible front desk service

Publié le 21 janv. 2016 sur Hotels
This hotel didn't accept my coupon that I had from hotels.com. The Indian woman that works the front desk during the day is incredibly rude. I asked a question about coffee in the room and not only was I shut down but I was reprimanded for even asking. While the rooms are big and fairly clean, the horrible service at the front desk doesn't make this stay worth it. Pay a few dollars more to stay somewhere else that way you don't get yelled at just for asking for your receipt like we did.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Minnesota

Adequate room for what we needed

Publié le 5 janv. 2016
I was originally placed in a smoking room. When I asked for a non smoking, I was charged for an "upgrade" and I ended up paying way more for this room than I should have or would have. I paid a premium price for a low end room. The staff is not helpful or friendly, in my opinion
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
9 janv. 2016 par Crystal, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your visit. Unfortunately when a smoking room is booked online that is what we place you in. Our smoking rooms are cheaper so the upgrade charge was no different than the charge that you would have paid if you had booked non-smoking online originally. We have addressed our staff that you were not satisfied with the quality of care you received.