Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 243 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
1,9 sur 5
Recommandé par 53 % des clients
2,1 Propreté de la chambre
2,3 Services et personnel
2,0 Confort de la chambre
1,8 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifiéde Georgia

You get what you pay for!!

Publié le 30 mars 2015
My stay was OK... A lot of suspicious people walking by our room all night... Was kinda caught off guard with the $25 per night pet fee..no ice machines...not the cleanest room.. But you get what you pay for and it didn't stop us from enjoying my weekend in Savannah. Plus it was close to river street and downtown Savannah..I would stay again if I had too!!!
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
14 avr. 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay .were glad that your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to your return.
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde swainsboro ga

Room smells

Publié le 16 mars 2015
The room had an odor. The staff wasn't nice. And I was not comfortable at all with my stay.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
18 mars 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay . We hope that your next stay will be a pleasant one.
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde Columbia

Don't Do it! This was the worst hotel ever!

Publié le 16 mars 2015
I booked this room through expedia for St. Patrick's Day celebration. This was a terrible experience... it was not clean.. there were burn holes all over covers.. you have to make your own ice with the cheap bent up blue (( dollar store)) ice makers.. but the freezer never gets cold enough.. there is spider webs in the corners.. it smells terrible..we had to sleep with door cracked ((its not the best area but we had to breathe)). We changed rooms twice for the same thing.. I tried to get money back as soon as I walked in but they refused! we thought about sleeping in our car and forgetting abt the $120 spent on this room but we did need the water..
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
22 mars 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay . we would like to apologize for any inconvenienced you had on your stay .
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED!!

Publié le 9 mars 2015
Dirty sheets, comforters had holes, disgusting toilet & shower, dents in walls, & smell in room was horrible.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
12 mars 2015 par TM, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay . We have addressed the issues that you had with the cleanliness in your room with the staff and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again.
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 9 mars 2015
It was terrible. I would recommend against staying there.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
12 mars 2015 par TM, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with savannah suites. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced on your stay .
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

hotel in the middle of everything

Publié le 2 mars 2015
Very convient location and very nice staff. i think some of the amentities should be updated or more modernized considering ac/ heating unit,lighting and showers.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
8 mars 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. were glad that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope that you will visit again.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde Canada

Poor Experience!

Publié le 26 févr. 2015
Les + : The amenities were suitable ie.bar fridge, microwave, hot plates etc. Rooms were cleaned by staff as best they could.
Les - : Hours of operation by staff. We arrived by air @ midnight and even though we had a room reserved no one there thus had to pay for a second room .
Situation : We were happy with location.
Hotel looks nothing like one in picture, no sense of security at night when the office closes at 9 pm and doesn't re-open until 8 am. Hotel seemed more like it was one for people who basically lived there rather than for travellers. Two scimpy pillows that were next to useless. Towels were basically hand towels.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
8 mars 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. we do have limited office hours but also have security patrolling in the evening we hopeful that you will visit again .
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde Charlotte NC

I hated this place.

Publié le 3 janv. 2015
The staff was great, but the hotel it self was horrible. The room had old musty Smell. The sheets had stains on them. The towels where old and small. I could go on and on but you get the picture.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
6 janv. 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay .We would like to apologize for the issues that you experienced with the Oder and linen in the room .our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable room for all of our guests.
1 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Familles
par un voyageur vérifié

Worst place ever

Publié le 1 déc. 2014 sur Hotels.com
The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was dirty and smelled like mildew. We had cockroaches in our room. The room wasn't supplied with what it was suppose to have. When we went to the office to tell them the lady in the office told us that we were lucky to have coffee cups. They double charged us and refused to give us a refund until i called the hotline number to talk to them. Needless to say that took 2 hours of my time. I would NEVER RECOMMEND to go to this place ever. Even as a last resort do NOT go!
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
7 févr. 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay .We would like to apologize that the room cleanliness did not meet your expectations and that you had a problem with the billing of your reservation. We don't provide any cookware or utensil's only the coffee mugs and the coffee maker. we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
1 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Familles
par Twaniecede Miami, FL

Horrible Time

Publié le 19 nov. 2014 sur Hotels.com
I did not enjoy my stay. The room had a bad odor and i felt really itchy the whole time i stayed here. This is he worst hotel I have ever stayed in and it is definitely not worth the price at all.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 janv. 2015 par Tracie, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. we would like to apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one and have addressed the issues that you mentioned with maintence staff to take care of these issues. were hope you will visit again if your in the area.