Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 156 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
3,5 sur 5
Recommandé par 88 % des clients
3,6 Propreté de la chambre
3,5 Services et personnel
3,6 Confort de la chambre
3,5 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

My stay at the extended stay

Publié le 21 oct. 2014
Les + : It was close to many resturants, Ihop was right next door.
Les - : Upgrade some of the rooms, maintenance in hall way s
Situation : Resturants near by
Overall, I had a pretty good stay here. It was my first time staying at the extended stay , I had to get use to not having house keeping. But rooms were clean. Not much of a breakfast area.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié de PA

Step up from the typical roadside motel

Publié le 15 oct. 2014
Les + : Quiet
Les - : Could be slightly cleaner, smoky smell all in hallways and stairwell
Situation : Three Floyds Brewing, Munster, IN
Very quiet, nicely equipped room, small desk, nice desk chair, recliner. Plenty of electrical outlets. AC worked great. Free wifi. Generally fairly clean. A bit hard to find off the interstate so keep your eyes open. GPS misdirected us based on the address.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Lansing il

Extended stay of america

Publié le 29 sept. 2014
horrible my toilet flood over the 1st night I got there they claim all rooms was filled so they couldn't change me out until the next day at 4 so I had to go to IHOP to use the restroom finally put me in a smoking room where I couldn't breathe due to smoke smell manger claim she was going to get my a free stay next time I'm in town but never heard anything else from her
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
11 oct. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you had issues with your toilet during your stay with us. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to ensure this issue is fixed right away. As well, I am sorry to hear that you had to be moved to a smoking room. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Indiana

Fair, I guess...

Publié le 24 sept. 2014
Les + : Staff was decent, LOOKED clean
Les - : Air this place out!
The room was clean and decent looking, it just smelled pretty bad! As if 10 men had been living there just before us. I opened the windows and turned on the air in hopes of getting rid of it, but it didn't work. We were too tired to do anything else about it, and it was just a 1 night stay so we dealt with it. Probably won't go back.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
3 oct. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Vanessa - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your room. Still, I apologize for the odor issues you encountered during your stay. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not continue in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié de Poplar Bluff, MO

Easy to find / different kind of place

Publié le 30 juil. 2014
This is a different kind of hotel. I wasn't prepared for no ice machines or trading towels in at the desk. The room was great though, comfortable and spacious. Kitchenette was nice. Overall a very nice stay.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
4 sept. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that the room was comfortable and spacious and that you enjoyed your in-room kitchen. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Familles
par Hilten Edwards de St Louis

Publié le 15 juil. 2014 sur Hotels.com
Staff was not friendly or accommodating. I would not consider this a place to stay in the future.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
4 sept. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you received such poor service from my staff. In response to your feedback, I will be meeting with my entire staff to review customer service standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Personnes en voyage d'affaires
par un voyageur vérifié

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 15 juil. 2014 sur Hotels.com
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Événement personnel
par Cora Davis de Lansing Ill

Close to lacation where I needed to be.

Publié le 14 juil. 2014 sur Hotels.com
Not my first stay but probably my last! Had to change rooms because the water in bath room would not get hot! Staff did change room with out to much of a problem. Even let me stay on the same floor. All in all not to bad of a stay.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
4 sept. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had to change rooms because we had a hot water problem. I am pleased that my staff was able to relocate you, but I will be reviewing our inspection standards with them to ensure that this experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Couples
par CL de Chicago, IL

Family reunion

Publié le 14 juil. 2014 sur Hotels.com
We enjoyed the stay, but our lights didn't work on one side of the bed. I went to the front deck to let them know and they said they would send someone to our room to look at it. No one came, so I was disappointed in the part of the service.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
4 sept. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your bedside lights did not work. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to ensure this issue does not continue in the future. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
par un voyageur vérifié

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 12 juil. 2014 sur Hotels.com