Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 261 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4,0 sur 5
Recommandé par 80 % des clients
4,0 Propreté de la chambre
4,2 Services et personnel
4,0 Confort de la chambre
3,9 Conditions de l'hôtel
Avis Expedia vérifiés
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Norman, OK

convenient extended stay hotel

Publié le 18 mai 2016
This was a good place to stay while we were visiting our daughter for a week. Having a kitchen was very convenient, and the room was comfortable.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
25 mai 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and all the amenities we have to offer! I’m happy to hear that our fully equipped kitchens were convenient for your needs. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 20 avr. 2016 sur Hotels
I hated it. This was the worst hotel stay I could remember. When in the bathroom,you could hear the people outside your room. I could hear every time the person next to my room either flushed the toilet, took a shower or washed their hands. There was a dog in the room in front of mine, that every time someone was in the hallway would bark. When picking out the hotel I wanted one that offered a free breakfast, since I was on a business trip. They have granola bars, Apple, oranges,and coffee. I was expecting an actually breakfast like I've seen at the other hotels I've visited. I was not impressed. I hated staying there, and I would not recommended them to anyone.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
16 juil. 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the noise issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our staff to make sure we are enforcing our quiet hours to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Additionally, I will be sure to share your feedback about our grab-and-go breakfast with our corporate office. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
5 sur 5
par Robert

Publié le 6 avr. 2016 sur Hotels
We were in Melbourne to visit Florida Tech. We just stayed one night.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
25 juin 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad to read that you had a comfortable stay and that our location was convenient for your needs. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 sur 5
par Nancy

Publié le 30 mars 2016 sur Hotels
We were only there overnight. Came in late and left early.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
18 juin 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a comfortable stay! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 sur 5
par Gail de Key West

ESA better than expected.

Publié le 26 mars 2016 sur Hotels
Staff was extremely helpful. Room was comfortable. Mattress was horrible.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
11 juin 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the mattress in your room did not meet your expectations. Still, we are thrilled to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with great customer service. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 sur 5
par Albert

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 25 mars 2016 sur Hotels
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Washington, DC

OK. Clean and comfortable enough

Publié le 21 mars 2016
Situation : It's near a number of restaurants
We stayed here for one night while attending Spring Training games in Viera. The room was clean but rather gloomy. Our bed was comfortable. We had to request the bed linens for the sofa bed for the third person we had reserved for and to put them on the bed ourselves. Otherwise tha staff was pleasant and reasonably helpful.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 mars 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that your room was missing linens for the sofa bed. I will address this issue with our housekeeping staff to ensure rooms are properly stocked. Still, I am pleased to read that you had a positive stay overall and enjoyed our professional customer service. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
5 sur 5
par Michael de Charlotte NC

Outstanding!

Publié le 14 mars 2016 sur Hotels
The newly redesigned hotel was VERY nice. We had stayed in a $400 room earlier in the week. The King bed in this room had the best mattress we had all week in other hotels.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
28 mai 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and all the amenities we have to offer! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Disappointed

Publié le 8 mars 2016 sur Hotels
The room was not clean when we arrived. The kitchen did not have anything available for use either. The shower had used soap bars and trash along the top. There was only one small trash can for the entire room. The bed was not a queen size bed as advertised. My husband had to sleep on the sleeper sofa because the bed was so small. The air conditioner would not continuously run, so there were just bursts of cool air. You couldn't even just run the fan to keep air circulating and block out noise from the hallway. There was only one treadmill available and it was not in working order. The exercise room was small with no fans to help with circulation. The vending machines are outdated and only take coins.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
21 mai 2016 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals as well as reviewing our room inspection procedures. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
3 sur 5
par Corey

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 8 mars 2016 sur Hotels