Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 185 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4,1 sur 5
Recommandé par 90 % des clients
4,1 Propreté de la chambre
4,2 Services et personnel
4,1 Confort de la chambre
3,9 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Hotel im nirgendwo

Publié le 19 juil. 2015
Les + : Checkout ging schnell.
Situation : Das Hotel befindet sich an einer stark befahrenen Strasse, an der es keinen Fussweg geschweige denn eine Überquerungsmöglichkeit gibt.
Ich habe das Hotel für eine Nacht gebucht. Leider war direkt der Abfluss verstopft. Das hat man beim betreten des Zimmers auch sehr deutlich gerochen. Die Empfangsdame hat dann eine halbe Stunde im Klo rumgepömpelt, bis das Problem behoben war. Soweit war mein Zimmer dann okay. Mein Mitreisender hat allerdings ein Nichtraucherzimmer bekommen, in dem offenbar vorher eine Zigarrenfabrik abgebrannt ist. Der dann noch abgefallene Wasserhahn hat das Gesamtbild dann noch etwas abgerundet. Alles in allem ist die Ausstattung nicht schlecht, aber es müsste eine deutlich bessere Wartung und Reinigung geben. Das Frühstück besteht aus einem Muffin zum mitnehmen.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Personnes en voyage d'affaires
par un voyageur vérifié de FLORIDA

ok hotel, close to my customers and restaraunts.

Publié le 16 juil. 2015
I thought the hotel was fine however I do like to have a cup of water by the bed at night and they did not even have plastic cups in the room. It is a little frustrating when you come to expect things in the room.
5 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié de L

Out of town trip

Publié le 8 juil. 2015
Perfect location for food and shopping, I was in town for a two day training class and this hotel was convienent to everything
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
22 juil. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that our location was convenient for your needs. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Wisconsin

Hotel and room are showing their age.

Publié le 27 juin 2015
Les + : Bed was comfy.
Les - : Build a new one.
I was a late arrival, receptionist was very good. The room was a little shabby, but the bed (a queen) was very comfortable - more so than my Sleep Number at home. Blanket had several cigarette burn holes. New widescreen flat TV, but the cable was analog and not much more than basic. Room temp adjustment was limited to +/- 1 or 2 degrees. Wi Fi worked OK. The only cleanliness issue was that there was a long black hair stuck on the wall of the tub surround. The flight/hotel package didn't include daily room cleaning.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
13 juil. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, we will work to make sure we are inspecting rooms thoroughly. Still, we are glad to know that we were able to provide you with a comfortable bed and great customer service. Additionally, I am excited to share that our property will be renovated later this year. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

This Hotel is okay

Publié le 24 juin 2015
Les + : Close to the mall and resturants
Les - : Dated, dirty doors in the rooms, the doors viewer was broken and a tissue was stuck in it so no one could look in the room.
This hotel is okay. It is outdated but they are renovating right now. It was clean enough but did have a few areas to improve. I am sure it will be much better when the renovations are complete.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
30 juin 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that our hotel’s appearance was not what you expected. In response to your feedback, I am pleased to let you know that our interior renovation is scheduled for this fall. Thank you again for your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Getaway

Publié le 10 mai 2015
I had high hopes for this hotel. It had good reviews, full kitchens, and was close to where I needed to be. However, my overall stay was very lackluster. It was very clean, and the staff was more than willing to supply anything we needed to cook a good meal in our room. That's about the only perks. The air conditioning unit was terrible. It was either freezing when it was on, or hot when the fan turned off. The bed was very uncomfortable.. It was like sleeping with paper towels as blankets. The rooms are also pretty tiny with not much room to spread out. I guess I was just hoping for a room that was at least a little bit comfortable if we were going to be staying 3+ days.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
13 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the air conditioning issues you encountered during your stay. Still, I'm so pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and also that you were happy with the service provided by our staff. Additionally, I am pleased to let you know that our hotel is scheduled for a major renovation later this fall. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Personnes en voyage d'affaires
par Stephanie

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 28 avr. 2015 sur Hotels
5 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Événement personnel
par jermaine de merritt island

Boss

Publié le 28 avr. 2015 sur Hotels
I will be staying again for my bday weekend.. Wish is this weekend
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
11 juil. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was happy with all the amenities we have to offer. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Not impressed

Publié le 28 avr. 2015
Les + : Hotel is next to a mall so at least you can walk over to food court.
Les - : Rooms need to be repaired & deep cleaned, then cleaned better & more frequently.
Carpet was pulling up from floor. Found someone's used soap in shower. Mildew on cloth shower curtain. Bathroom sink faucet had two big chips in it or was worn away. Bathroom floor tile grout was disgusting and the carpet was dirty & I wore shoes while inside as I didn't want to walk on the floor barefoot. Apparently the rooms aren't cleaned until you check out, unless you are staying for an extended time, then they "clean" once a week. The hallway carpet is buckled & loose. Luckily I only stayed to nights because it's not pleasant staying in a room that just "feels" dirty.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
5 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness of your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have met with our housekeeping staff and shared your feedback with them to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 20 avr. 2015
Rooms and hallways can use update. Surprised about breakfast. Only muffins and fruits
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies that you weren't completely satisfied with your room, the hallways and our grab-and-go breakfast. In response to your feedback, I am excited to share that we will be going through a renovation in the later part of this year. Our rooms and hallways will be updated at that time. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.