Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 180 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4,1 sur 5
Recommandé par 91 % des clients
4,1 Propreté de la chambre
4,2 Services et personnel
4,1 Confort de la chambre
4,0 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié de Wisconsin

Hotel and room are showing their age.

Publié le 27 juin 2015
Les + : Bed was comfy.
Les - : Build a new one.
I was a late arrival, receptionist was very good. The room was a little shabby, but the bed (a queen) was very comfortable - more so than my Sleep Number at home. Blanket had several cigarette burn holes. New widescreen flat TV, but the cable was analog and not much more than basic. Room temp adjustment was limited to +/- 1 or 2 degrees. Wi Fi worked OK. The only cleanliness issue was that there was a long black hair stuck on the wall of the tub surround. The flight/hotel package didn't include daily room cleaning.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

This Hotel is okay

Publié le 24 juin 2015
Les + : Close to the mall and resturants
Les - : Dated, dirty doors in the rooms, the doors viewer was broken and a tissue was stuck in it so no one could look in the room.
This hotel is okay. It is outdated but they are renovating right now. It was clean enough but did have a few areas to improve. I am sure it will be much better when the renovations are complete.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
30 juin 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that our hotel’s appearance was not what you expected. In response to your feedback, I am pleased to let you know that our interior renovation is scheduled for this fall. Thank you again for your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Getaway

Publié le 10 mai 2015
I had high hopes for this hotel. It had good reviews, full kitchens, and was close to where I needed to be. However, my overall stay was very lackluster. It was very clean, and the staff was more than willing to supply anything we needed to cook a good meal in our room. That's about the only perks. The air conditioning unit was terrible. It was either freezing when it was on, or hot when the fan turned off. The bed was very uncomfortable.. It was like sleeping with paper towels as blankets. The rooms are also pretty tiny with not much room to spread out. I guess I was just hoping for a room that was at least a little bit comfortable if we were going to be staying 3+ days.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
13 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the air conditioning issues you encountered during your stay. Still, I'm so pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and also that you were happy with the service provided by our staff. Additionally, I am pleased to let you know that our hotel is scheduled for a major renovation later this fall. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Not impressed

Publié le 28 avr. 2015
Les + : Hotel is next to a mall so at least you can walk over to food court.
Les - : Rooms need to be repaired & deep cleaned, then cleaned better & more frequently.
Carpet was pulling up from floor. Found someone's used soap in shower. Mildew on cloth shower curtain. Bathroom sink faucet had two big chips in it or was worn away. Bathroom floor tile grout was disgusting and the carpet was dirty & I wore shoes while inside as I didn't want to walk on the floor barefoot. Apparently the rooms aren't cleaned until you check out, unless you are staying for an extended time, then they "clean" once a week. The hallway carpet is buckled & loose. Luckily I only stayed to nights because it's not pleasant staying in a room that just "feels" dirty.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
5 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness of your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have met with our housekeeping staff and shared your feedback with them to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 20 avr. 2015
Rooms and hallways can use update. Surprised about breakfast. Only muffins and fruits
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies that you weren't completely satisfied with your room, the hallways and our grab-and-go breakfast. In response to your feedback, I am excited to share that we will be going through a renovation in the later part of this year. Our rooms and hallways will be updated at that time. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié de wisconsin

Very convenient hotel to Melbourne airport

Publié le 31 mars 2015
AC didn't work in our room. Front desk staff person was very helpful. First he tried some troubleshooting to see if he could get it working. When that didn't work he helped us get another room -on the same floor so it was easy to move. Nice sports bar across street for dinner.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
14 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the A/C in your room was not functioning. Still, we are glad to know that we were able to find another room right away and that the move was easy for you. I'm also happy to hear that that you were pleased with the convenience of our location. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
5 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Couples
par William de Colorad Springs

Highly Recommended

Publié le 23 mars 2015 sur Hotels
We had a great time and the place is in a great location with respect to beaches and shopping. The pool was also excellent.
1 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Familles
par Helen de Missouri

Disgusting.

Publié le 17 mars 2015 sur Hotels
While the customer service was very welcoming, the hallway smelled a lot like smoke and old must. The room was dirty. We had to have room service clean up the counters and give us new bed sheets. The headboard of the bed was torn. Red stains all over the carpet. Sticky gooey stuff on the dresser, the iron was rusted (could not iron clothes without it ruining the material) and the bathtub still had hair in it. We had the handicap accessible room and the fold up seat in the shower had white crusty gunk on it. We asked for room service again because we still felt unsanitary in the room, they denied our request saying that Extended Stay only cleans the rooms when we check out. I understand if it was a clean and well kept hotel, but this place lacked any sort of good hygeine.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Familles
par Lawrence de VA

Extended Stay

Publié le 16 mars 2015 sur Hotels
really friendly people at the desk. clean. crazy process of having to check out dishes from the front (Extended Stay?!) and "bring them back as fast as possible. advertised "breakfast" is oatmeal or grits packets + red delicious apples - not awful but not an orange or banana or a cup of juice around. have to go request and trade in towels
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Couples
par Inge de Tilburg

Prima hotel

Publié le 16 mars 2015 sur Hotels
Prima hotel, was oke.