Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 163 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4,1 sur 5
Recommandé par 93 % des clients
4,2 Propreté de la chambre
4,3 Services et personnel
4,2 Confort de la chambre
4,0 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifiéde wisconsin

Very convenient hotel to Melbourne airport

Publié le 31 mars 2015
AC didn't work in our room. Front desk staff person was very helpful. First he tried some troubleshooting to see if he could get it working. When that didn't work he helped us get another room -on the same floor so it was easy to move. Nice sports bar across street for dinner.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
14 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the A/C in your room was not functioning. Still, we are glad to know that we were able to find another room right away and that the move was easy for you. I'm also happy to hear that that you were pleased with the convenience of our location. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde Melbourne, fl

SMOKERS HOTEL ONLY!

Publié le 5 mars 2015
Les + : location - I live a mile away and just needed a room due to plumbing problem.
Situation : Near the mall and airport.
If you smoke or have pets this might be the place for you - I you request a non-smoking room - this just means that they put a card on the table that says "no smoking" although the room has been smoke in for many, many years! Even the halls just reque of long term smoke! Lots of dogs barking in the rooms at night - would not do this experiment again!
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifiéde Melbourne, Fl

Nice hotel, I would stay again.

Publié le 4 mars 2015
Les + : It's pet friendly.
Les - : The breakfast choices could be a little better.
Being so close to an airport, I thought I would hate it, but it was rather pleasant. The staff is friendly and best of all it is pet friendly. I would stay again if the need arises.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 mars 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our grab-and-go Breakfast did not meet your expectations. Still, we are thrilled to know that we were able to provide you with a pet friendly, convenient location near the airport and that you received the friendly customer service you deserve. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 3 mars 2015
Les - : the room carpet could be cleaner and the breakfast could be better
Convenient location, and friendly staff. The rooms should be cleaned everyday.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 mars 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the convenient location of our hotel. However, I apologize that our housekeeping policy was not explained to you upon check-in. We provide housekeeping to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. We use comments such as yours to make changes to our brand so that we can ensure a nice guest experience at this hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Very old and outdated. Not Clean

Publié le 9 févr. 2015
This hotel was very disappointing. The staff was inattentive. The "breakfast" was coffee and wrapped muffins. The room was large and laid out well, but the furnishings, bedding and carpets were old and not clean. The shower had hair in it from the previous guests and the kitchen had no kitchenware. Meaning no silverware, cups, plates, not a single glass nor paper towel. Even a hotel room with no kitchen at least provides glasses! I It was ridiculous! I would NOT recommend this place.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Événement personnel
par Russellde London UK

Good quality mid range/priced accommadation

Publié le 8 déc. 2014 sur Hotels.com
Extended stay America venues are by definition long stay locations.All the staff were very helpful and the room was clean and well appointed. Nothing to do nearby but I picked this location for a specific purpose and in that respect it met all my needs.I would stay here again.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
21 févr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that our staff was helpful and that our hotel met your needs. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean, well-appointed room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Événement personnel
par Michaelde San Jose, CA

Stay at your own risk!

Publié le 7 déc. 2014 sur Hotels.com
Arrived after midnight.doors locked. Phone to call for after hours did not work. Phone in room did not work. No coffee in room. Full kitchen with NO equipment. Disaster!!
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
21 févr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We do lock our doors late in the evening, for the security of our guests. I will have our maintenance engineer repair our phones to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, we do have kitchen equipment available to guests at the front desk upon request. I am sorry that my staff did not explain this to your. I will be working with them to ensure that we are properly communicating this to guests during check-in. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Couples
par JOHN ALEXANDERde Montreal Qc. Canada

4 stars

Publié le 2 déc. 2014 sur Hotels.com
-1- did not know that it was pet freindly and had a small barking dogs one facing other 2 rooms down hall. -2-Air conditioning is right next to bed and there four blows directly onto the person. Could have a way to divert air towards ceiling. -3- when booked with Expedia-Hotel.com was told that there was a shuttle to and from Melbourne Airport from Hotel. There was none Taxi fare $8.80 + tip=$10.00 each way but great place to leave car for short term no parking fees. Personnel very plaisant and accommodating
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
7 févr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the barking dogs and other inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our team and the location of this property. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde New York City-Queens Borough

Publié le 30 nov. 2014
Les + : Convenient location to services that I had to attend.
Les - : Rug and sofa cleaning.
Situation : Mall with restaurants within walking distance.
Sofa had a stain and looked in need of a good cleaning. Red stain on the rug.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
3 déc. 2014 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the sofa and carpet stains you discovered in your room. We are sorry for this issue, but are glad to know you were pleased with our convenient location near the mall, restaurants, and for the services you needed to attend while staying with us. I will work with my housekeeping staff to improve our inspection procedures to ensure that we are removing stains correctly moving forward. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Personnes en voyage d'affaires
par Jaimede Coral Springs

Woke up with headache from cig smell

Publié le 10 nov. 2014 sur Hotels.com
Needed to spend another night in Melbourne and decide on the Extended Stay America but found that it wasnt worth the change and shouldve just spent the additional $30. Room thou smoke free had a reidue smell that would not go away. Woke up with a headache from the cig smell.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 janv. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding the cigarette smoke odor is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working with my housekeeping staff to better deodorize our rooms moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.