Les notes se basent sur un nombre total de 172 avis vérifiés

Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné. Nous avons vérifié.
4,1 sur 5
Recommandé par 91 % des clients
4,1 Propreté de la chambre
4,2 Services et personnel
4,1 Confort de la chambre
4,0 Conditions de l'hôtel
Ils ont payé. Ils ont séjourné.
Nous avons vérifié.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Getaway

Publié le 10 mai 2015
I had high hopes for this hotel. It had good reviews, full kitchens, and was close to where I needed to be. However, my overall stay was very lackluster. It was very clean, and the staff was more than willing to supply anything we needed to cook a good meal in our room. That's about the only perks. The air conditioning unit was terrible. It was either freezing when it was on, or hot when the fan turned off. The bed was very uncomfortable.. It was like sleeping with paper towels as blankets. The rooms are also pretty tiny with not much room to spread out. I guess I was just hoping for a room that was at least a little bit comfortable if we were going to be staying 3+ days.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
13 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the air conditioning issues you encountered during your stay. Still, I'm so pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and also that you were happy with the service provided by our staff. Additionally, I am pleased to let you know that our hotel is scheduled for a major renovation later this fall. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Not impressed

Publié le 28 avr. 2015
Les + : Hotel is next to a mall so at least you can walk over to food court.
Les - : Rooms need to be repaired & deep cleaned, then cleaned better & more frequently.
Carpet was pulling up from floor. Found someone's used soap in shower. Mildew on cloth shower curtain. Bathroom sink faucet had two big chips in it or was worn away. Bathroom floor tile grout was disgusting and the carpet was dirty & I wore shoes while inside as I didn't want to walk on the floor barefoot. Apparently the rooms aren't cleaned until you check out, unless you are staying for an extended time, then they "clean" once a week. The hallway carpet is buckled & loose. Luckily I only stayed to nights because it's not pleasant staying in a room that just "feels" dirty.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
5 mai 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness of your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have met with our housekeeping staff and shared your feedback with them to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 20 avr. 2015
Rooms and hallways can use update. Surprised about breakfast. Only muffins and fruits
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies that you weren't completely satisfied with your room, the hallways and our grab-and-go breakfast. In response to your feedback, I am excited to share that we will be going through a renovation in the later part of this year. Our rooms and hallways will be updated at that time. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifiéde wisconsin

Very convenient hotel to Melbourne airport

Publié le 31 mars 2015
AC didn't work in our room. Front desk staff person was very helpful. First he tried some troubleshooting to see if he could get it working. When that didn't work he helped us get another room -on the same floor so it was easy to move. Nice sports bar across street for dinner.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
14 avr. 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the A/C in your room was not functioning. Still, we are glad to know that we were able to find another room right away and that the move was easy for you. I'm also happy to hear that that you were pleased with the convenience of our location. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
2 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifiéde Melbourne, fl

SMOKERS HOTEL ONLY!

Publié le 5 mars 2015
Les + : location - I live a mile away and just needed a room due to plumbing problem.
Situation : Near the mall and airport.
If you smoke or have pets this might be the place for you - I you request a non-smoking room - this just means that they put a card on the table that says "no smoking" although the room has been smoke in for many, many years! Even the halls just reque of long term smoke! Lots of dogs barking in the rooms at night - would not do this experiment again!
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifiéde Melbourne, Fl

Nice hotel, I would stay again.

Publié le 4 mars 2015
Les + : It's pet friendly.
Les - : The breakfast choices could be a little better.
Being so close to an airport, I thought I would hate it, but it was rather pleasant. The staff is friendly and best of all it is pet friendly. I would stay again if the need arises.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 mars 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our grab-and-go Breakfast did not meet your expectations. Still, we are thrilled to know that we were able to provide you with a pet friendly, convenient location near the airport and that you received the friendly customer service you deserve. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Tout le monde
par un voyageur vérifié

Publié le 3 mars 2015
Les - : the room carpet could be cleaner and the breakfast could be better
Convenient location, and friendly staff. The rooms should be cleaned everyday.
Commentaire laissé par : Direction de l'hôtel
24 mars 2015 par Manager, Direction de l'hôtel
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the convenient location of our hotel. However, I apologize that our housekeeping policy was not explained to you upon check-in. We provide housekeeping to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. We use comments such as yours to make changes to our brand so that we can ensure a nice guest experience at this hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Couples
par Robert

Ce voyageur n'a laissé qu'une note Publié le 10 févr. 2015 sur Hotels.com
1 sur 5
par un voyageur vérifié

Very old and outdated. Not Clean

Publié le 9 févr. 2015
This hotel was very disappointing. The staff was inattentive. The "breakfast" was coffee and wrapped muffins. The room was large and laid out well, but the furnishings, bedding and carpets were old and not clean. The shower had hair in it from the previous guests and the kitchen had no kitchenware. Meaning no silverware, cups, plates, not a single glass nor paper towel. Even a hotel room with no kitchen at least provides glasses! I It was ridiculous! I would NOT recommend this place.
3 sur 5
Recommandé
pour Personnes en voyage d'affaires
par Vanessade Miami

updating needed

Publié le 1 févr. 2015 sur Hotels.com
Businews Center was broken which really was a inconvenience being that I travel almost 4 out of 7 days a week. I stayed in the suite with the kitchen and sitting area. The concept of it was great but it needed updating. The back of my room's headboard was made out of plastic covering but it was all peely. This room didn't have many outlets that were not in use by the bed so I had to use the TV outlet whice was full of dust. Not the worst complaints but if they would fix the minor things it would make a difference.